A large interventional pain management practice in Albuquerque offering platelet rich plasma and injections of the patient's own bone marrow or fat derived cells.
Modern Pain and Spine is an interventional pain management practice at 1540 Juan Tabo Boulevard Northeast in Albuquerque, New Mexico. It is a substantial group - the site lists seven physicians and five other clinical providers across pain management, anaesthesiology, psychiatry, occupational medicine, medical toxicology, emergency medicine, orthopaedic surgery and clinical pharmacy - and regenerative injections are one service within a broad pain and occupational medicine practice rather than its main business.
The regenerative medicine page sets out two treatments with reasonable clarity. For platelet rich plasma (PRP) the site describes drawing a small amount of the patient's blood, spinning it in a centrifuge to separate the platelets from the other blood components, and injecting the concentrated serum at the site of injury. For stem cell therapy it states that mesenchymal stem cells are taken from either the patient's bone marrow or their adipose (fatty) tissue, processed in a centrifuge, and reinjected at the injury site. This is an autologous (from the patient's own body) model; no donor, umbilical cord or amniotic material is named anywhere.
Naming the tissue source puts this practice ahead of many in the directory. It is worth noting, though, that the site's description of these cells transforming into muscle, bone and cartilage to rebuild damaged structures is a statement of intended mechanism rather than a demonstrated result, and the page's framing of regenerative medicine as offering impressive results is the practice's own marketing language. A prospective patient should ask which source would be used for their problem, whether injections are performed under imaging guidance, how many are typically needed, and what the realistic expectation is.
The conditions named are shoulder pain, knee pain, back and neck pain, tendinitis, sports injuries, muscle strains, ligament sprains, osteoarthritis and rheumatoid arthritis. Among the named clinicians are Athanasios K Manole, MD, stated to be board certified in interventional pain management and occupational medicine; Melissa Merhege, MD, in pain management and psychiatry; Kisha D Thomas, MD, a board certified anaesthesiologist with fellowship training in interventional pain management; Steven J. Fishburn, MD, in occupational medicine and medical toxicology; Kathy Head, JD, MD, MPH, CIME, in occupational medicine; Victor Salgado, MD, in acute care; and Alberto Bolanos, M.D., an orthopaedic surgeon. The site does not say which of them performs the regenerative injections. No prices, insurance details, founding year or languages are published.
The site names the following conditions in connection with its regenerative injections.
The site states that its stem cell therapy uses mesenchymal stem cells taken from either the patient's own bone marrow or their fatty tissue, processed in a centrifuge and reinjected at the site of injury.
The site names a large clinical team; it does not state which members perform the regenerative injections.
The practice occupies a suite at 1540 Juan Tabo Boulevard Northeast in the east of Albuquerque. The site describes an outpatient interventional pain clinic with a large multi-disciplinary staff, covering pain procedures, occupational medicine and independent medical evaluations as well as regenerative injections. Cell and platelet preparations are described as processed in a centrifuge, implying same-day on-site processing, but no laboratory, cleanroom or accreditation is described on the pages reviewed.
The site publishes no prices for stem cell injections, platelet rich plasma or any other service, and does not state which insurance plans it accepts. Because the practice also does insured pain and occupational medicine work, it is worth asking specifically whether the regenerative injections are self-funded.
Profile compiled from information published on the clinic's own website and from the StemCell Registry directory record. Details may change; confirm directly with the clinic before making decisions.