International Registry of Stem Cell Treatment Providers  ·  2026 Clinical Edition  ·  1,507 Verified Clinics Across 73 Countries
StemCell Registry
Global Clinical Directory
1,507 Providers
73 Countries
Edition 2026
FAQ
StemCell RegistryJapan › Omotesando Helene Clinic

Omotesando Helene Clinic

A regenerative medicine outpatient clinic in Minami-Aoyama, Tokyo, built around mesenchymal stem cell treatment and supported by a named panel of specialist doctors.

Medical Disclaimer: This profile is compiled for informational purposes only and is not medical advice, a clinical endorsement, or a statement that any treatment is proven or approved. Stem cell therapies vary widely in regulatory status and evidence. Consult a qualified physician before pursuing treatment.

Overview

Omotesando Helene Clinic is a regenerative medicine outpatient clinic on the third floor of the Aoyama Ohmoto building at 5-9-15 Minami-Aoyama in Minato-ku, Tokyo. Its site is unusually detailed for this sector: it publishes a full address and telephone number, a named board chair and group representative, and a panel of specialist doctors across orthopaedics, cardiovascular surgery, obstetrics and gynaecology, neurosurgery, urology, general surgery and dentistry, along with a named cell culture director.

Important note on the web address: the domain recorded in this directory, stemcells.jp, no longer serves the clinic's pages directly — it redirects to heleneclinic.com, which is the clinic's current site. The directory entry should be corrected to the new address.

The site presents mesenchymal stem cell treatment as the clinic's core service and devotes explanatory pages to how these cells are thought to act. It lists conditions including diabetic heart muscle disease, diabetic nerve damage, hardening of the arteries, knee pain, hair regrowth and skin regeneration, and describes administration by injection into muscle, by whole-body administration and by local transplantation depending on the condition. It also publishes pages on Parkinson's disease and subarachnoid haemorrhage in its topics section.

One gap is worth flagging. On the pages read the clinic does not say where its mesenchymal stem cells come from — whether from the patient's own fat or bone marrow or from donated umbilical cord tissue — nor whether they are autologous or allogeneic. Its explanatory diagram refers to isolated bone marrow stromal cells, but the site does not state that as its own source. It also publishes no prices. Anyone considering treatment should ask for the cell source, the regenerative medicine provision plan number and a written quotation.

At a Glance

Location
Tokyo, Japan
Google Rating
4.2 ★ (53 reviews)
Languages
['Japanese', 'English', 'Chinese', 'Korean', 'Thai']

Services and Treatments Offered

  • Mesenchymal stem cell therapy
  • Regenerative medicine outpatient consultation
  • Hair regeneration treatment
  • Skin regeneration treatment

Conditions Treated

The site lists the following among the conditions for which it offers stem cell treatment.

Diabetic heart muscle diseaseDiabetic nerve damageHardening of the arteriesKnee painHair lossSkin ageing

Cell Sources and Technologies

The site says its treatment is based on mesenchymal stem cells and explains at length how they are thought to work, but it does not state on these pages which tissue its own cells are taken from.

Mesenchymal stem cells — the site does not state the source tissue, and does not say whether the cells are autologous (from the patient's own body) or allogeneic (from a donor). An explanatory diagram on the page refers to isolated bone marrow stromal cells, but the site does not present this as its own sourcing.

Physicians and Clinical Team

The site names a large team; the following are those set out with roles or credentials.

Dr Nana Kobayashi — board chair; the site describes her as a specialist in gastrointestinal surgery and regenerative medicine (name transliterated from Japanese)Dr Takao Matsuoka — MD, MBA, PhD; group representative, listed by the site as a Diplomate of the American Board of Regenerative Medicine with a doctorate in stem cell research (name transliterated from Japanese)Dr Shinichiro Iwata — orthopaedic surgery; listed by the site as a certified regenerative medicine specialist (name transliterated from Japanese)Dr Yuzo Terakawa — neurosurgery (name transliterated from Japanese)Dr Takeshi Nakamura, PhD — cell culture director, described by the site as working in molecular biology and regenerative medicine processing (name transliterated from Japanese)Professor Ravindra Gupta, PhD — listed by the site as an external adviser and as professor of clinical microbiology at the University of CambridgeRitsuo Hosokawa — listed by the site as an adviser; a lawyer and former Minister of Health, Labour and Welfare (not a clinician)

Facility and Patient Experience

The site describes an outpatient clinic on the third floor of the Aoyama Ohmoto building at 5-9-15 Minami-Aoyama, Minato-ku, Tokyo, close to Omotesando. It states that the clinic holds ISO 9001 quality management certification and describes itself as a GCR certified clinic, and lists affiliation with the Japan chapter of an American regenerative medicine association and membership of the European Society for Quality Research. These are the clinic's own claims and have not been independently confirmed. The pages read do not name the laboratory where the cells are cultured.

  • Address given on the site: 5-9-15 Minami-Aoyama, Minato-ku, Tokyo 107-0062, Aoyama Ohmoto building, third floor
  • Telephone given on the site: 03-3400-2277
  • Current web address: heleneclinic.com (the older stemcells.jp address redirects here)
  • Certifications claimed on the site: ISO 9001 quality management; GCR certified clinic
  • Languages stated on the site: Japanese, English, simplified and traditional Chinese, Korean and Thai

Cost and Payment

The pages read do not publish prices for stem cell treatment.

Profile compiled from information published on the clinic's own website and from the StemCell Registry directory record. Details may change; confirm directly with the clinic before making decisions.

Other Providers in Japan

View all providers in Japan →